Shorelio

Tanwax Lake Fishing — Stocking & Shore Access

Pierce County, WA · nearest Census place: Clear Lake (~2 mi) · main access managed by WDFW

Trip status for Sun Nov 1

No current issues found in monitored official sources for Sun Nov 1

Quick facts

Recent stocking
None in the last 30 daysLast catchable-size plant: May 20, 2026
Shore access
Limited at the WDFW ramp; private resorts also offer dock/bank access Limited shore access
Pier / dock
No public fishing platform; docks only at private resorts
Parking
1 parking lot
Pass / fee
Discover Pass or WDFW Vehicle Access Pass · $10/day
Hours
Hours not stated by WDFW
Access season
Year-round

Main access: WDFW water access area (WDFW)
From official sources: WDFW via data.wa.gov, WDFW (GIS), WDFW, Washington State Parks · Sources & evidence

Recent stocking

Completed releases reported by WDFW (Fish Plants dataset), last 12 months. Only catchable-size trout/kokanee (3 or fewer fish per pound, WDFW's own threshold) count toward "recently stocked". Smaller fish are listed but not counted.

Stocking after Oct 31 is not yet in WDFW's data.

All 6 reported releases, last 12 months
DateSpeciesNumberFish/lbSize class
May 20, 2026Rainbow2,7732Catchable size
Apr 17, 2026Rainbow500.52Catchable size
Apr 17, 2026Rainbow2,0002.37Catchable size
Apr 2, 2026Rainbow4,0002Catchable size
Nov 24, 2025Rainbow1,0040.7Catchable size
Nov 24, 2025Rainbow6250.33Catchable size

Shore & pier access

Shore access
Limited at the WDFW ramp; private resorts also offer dock/bank access Limited shore access
Pier / dock
No public fishing platform; docks only at private resorts

WDFW-documented shore fishing points

What the official sources say
  • Shore “Limited shore fishing access” WDFW (GIS)
  • Shore “Multiple resorts and area around boat ramp provides adequate shoreline fishing access” WDFW
  • Pier / dock “Fishing platforms: None” WDFW
  • Pier / dock “Two private resorts also provide boat rentals, dock and bank access.” WDFW

Access points, parking, passes & hours

WDFW water access area (WDFW, main access)

Parking
1 parking lot
Pass / fee
Required · Discover Pass or WDFW Vehicle Access Pass · Discover Pass ($10/day, $45/yr) or Vehicle Access Pass (included with many WDFW licenses)
Hours
Hours not stated by WDFWWDFW publishes seasonal open dates for access areas but no daily hours
Seasonal access
Year-round
Fishing platform
Fishing platforms: None
Sources & quotes for WDFW water access area

Sources: WDFW: tanwax lake 666 · WDFW: water access sites · Washington State Parks

  • Parking “Parking lots: 1” WDFW
  • Pass “A Discover Pass or Vehicle Access Pass is required at all WDFW recreation lands.” WDFW
  • Pass “A Vehicle Access Pass provides access only to WDFW lands and is provided with the purchase of many hunting and fishing licenses.” WDFW
  • Fee “A Discover Pass or Vehicle Access Pass is required at all WDFW recreation lands.” WDFW
  • Fee “The one-day pass is $10.” Washington State Parks
  • Season “Access area open: Year-round” WDFW
  • Fishing platform “Fishing platforms: None” WDFW

Current notices

Kept separate on purpose: a fishing rule, a park closure and a health advisory are different facts. This site does not declare a lake "open" or "closed".

Fishing regulations

Physical access

  • None identified from monitored official sources

Health advisories

Data notes

  • None identified from monitored official sources

Lake rules from WDFW

  • “Crappie is managed with a 9-inch minimum size and a 10 fish bag limit.” WDFW
  • “Two-pole fishing is NOT allowed” WDFW

Full rules: WDFW sport fishing rules pamphlet · WDFW emergency rules for this lake

Nearby alternatives

  • Lake Whitman ~1 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock no
  • Lake Kapowsin ~2 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock not stated
  • Alder Lake ~12 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore yes, dock not stated
  • Mineral Lake ~16 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock yes

Sources & freshness

  • Stocking: WDFW data published Oct 31, 2026 12:33 AM PT; we last checked it
  • Access details: last reviewed Oct 31, 2026 (static facts; not live reporting). Official pages re-checked for changes
  • Notices checked: WDFW emergency rules ; Ecology toxic-algae list

Official WDFW lake page: WDFW. Stocking matched via release location “TANWAX LK (PIER)” (confirmed).

All 9 official sources used on this page

All known data issues and how to report a correction