Shorelio

Lake Kapowsin Fishing — Stocking & Shore Access

Pierce County, WA · nearest Census place: Kapowsin (~0 mi) · main access managed by WDFW

Trip status for Sun Nov 1

No current issues found in monitored official sources for Sun Nov 1

1 data note about conflicting or incomplete official sources

Quick facts

Recent stocking
None in the last 30 daysNo catchable-size plant in the last 12 months
Shore access
Walk-in areas along Oroville Rd; limited shore at the access; trail around the lake Limited shore access
Pier / dock
Unclear: official sources conflictSee the data notes below
Parking
1 parking lot
Pass / fee
Discover Pass or WDFW Vehicle Access Pass · $10/day
Hours
Hours not stated by WDFW
Access season
Year-round

Main access: WDFW water access area (WDFW)
From official sources: WDFW via data.wa.gov, WDFW, WDFW (GIS), Washington State Parks · Sources & evidence

Recent stocking

Completed releases reported by WDFW (Fish Plants dataset), last 12 months. Only catchable-size trout/kokanee (3 or fewer fish per pound, WDFW's own threshold) count toward "recently stocked". Smaller fish are listed but not counted.

Stocking after Oct 31 is not yet in WDFW's data.

No reported plants in the last 12 months.

Shore & pier access

Shore access
Walk-in areas along Oroville Rd; limited shore at the access; trail around the lake Limited shore access
Pier / dock
Unclear: official sources conflictSee the data notes below

WDFW-documented shore fishing points

What the official sources say
  • Shore “There are walk in fishing areas along Oroville Rd.” WDFW
  • Shore “Public dock, limited shore fishing” WDFW (GIS)
  • Shore “Trail around lake provides additional shore fishing” WDFW (GIS)
  • Pier / dock “Public dock, limited shore fishing” WDFW (GIS)
  • Pier / dock “Fishing platforms: None” WDFW

Access points, parking, passes & hours

WDFW water access area (WDFW, main access)

Parking
1 parking lot
Pass / fee
Required · Discover Pass or WDFW Vehicle Access Pass · Discover Pass ($10/day, $45/yr) or Vehicle Access Pass (included with many WDFW licenses)
Hours
Hours not stated by WDFWWDFW publishes seasonal open dates for access areas but no daily hours
Seasonal access
Year-round
Fishing platform
Fishing platforms: None
Sources & quotes for WDFW water access area

Sources: WDFW: lake kapowsin 437 · WDFW: water access sites · Washington State Parks

  • Parking “Parking lots: 1” WDFW
  • Pass “A Discover Pass or Vehicle Access Pass is required at all WDFW recreation lands.” WDFW
  • Pass “A Vehicle Access Pass provides access only to WDFW lands and is provided with the purchase of many hunting and fishing licenses.” WDFW
  • Fee “A Discover Pass or Vehicle Access Pass is required at all WDFW recreation lands.” WDFW
  • Fee “The one-day pass is $10.” Washington State Parks
  • Season “Access area open: Year-round” WDFW
  • Fishing platform “Fishing platforms: None” WDFW

Current notices

Kept separate on purpose: a fishing rule, a park closure and a health advisory are different facts. This site does not declare a lake "open" or "closed".

Fishing regulations

Physical access

  • None identified from monitored official sources

Health advisories

Data notes

  • Dock: GIS 'Public dock' vs access-site 'Fishing platforms: None' (possibly a boarding dock). Needs human review.

Full rules: WDFW sport fishing rules pamphlet · WDFW emergency rules for this lake

Nearby alternatives

  • Lake Whitman ~2 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock no
  • Tanwax Lake ~2 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock no
  • Alder Lake ~14 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore yes, dock not stated
  • Bonney Lake ~15 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock no

Sources & freshness

  • Stocking: WDFW data published Oct 31, 2026 12:33 AM PT; we last checked it
  • Access details: last reviewed Oct 31, 2026 (static facts; not live reporting). Official pages re-checked for changes
  • Notices checked: WDFW emergency rules ; Ecology toxic-algae list

Official WDFW lake page: WDFW. Stocking matched via release location “LK KAPOWSIN (PIER)” (confirmed).

All 9 official sources used on this page

All known data issues and how to report a correction