Lake Whitman Fishing — Stocking & Shore Access
Pierce County, WA · nearest Census place: Kapowsin (~2 mi) · main access managed by WDFW
Trip status for Sun Nov 1
No current issues found in monitored official sources for Sun Nov 1
Quick facts
- Recent stocking
- None in the last 30 daysLast catchable-size plant: Mar 10, 2026
- Shore access
- Limited, at the boat launch Limited shore access
- Pier / dock
- No fishing platform at the WDFW access
- Parking
- 1 parking lot
- Pass / fee
- Discover Pass or WDFW Vehicle Access Pass · $10/day
- Hours
- Hours not stated by WDFW
- Access season
- Year-round
Main access: WDFW water access area (WDFW)
From official sources: WDFW via data.wa.gov, WDFW, WDFW (GIS), Washington State Parks · Sources & evidence
Recent stocking
Completed releases reported by WDFW (Fish Plants dataset), last 12 months. Only catchable-size trout/kokanee (3 or fewer fish per pound, WDFW's own threshold) count toward "recently stocked". Smaller fish are listed but not counted.
Stocking after Oct 31 is not yet in WDFW's data.
All 1 reported release, last 12 months
| Date | Species | Number | Fish/lb | Size class |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mar 10, 2026 | Rainbow | 2,000 | 2.5 | Catchable size |
Shore & pier access
- Shore access
- Limited, at the boat launch Limited shore access
- Pier / dock
- No fishing platform at the WDFW access
WDFW-documented shore fishing points
- Limited shore fishing at boat launch: open point in maps (WDFW shore-fishing site)
What the official sources say
- Shore “Shoreline access is limited, but accessible” WDFW
- Shore “Limited shore fishing at boat launch” WDFW (GIS)
- Pier / dock “Fishing platforms: None” WDFW
Access points, parking, passes & hours
WDFW water access area (WDFW, main access)
- Parking
- 1 parking lot
- Pass / fee
- Required · Discover Pass or WDFW Vehicle Access Pass · Discover Pass ($10/day, $45/yr) or Vehicle Access Pass (included with many WDFW licenses)
- Hours
- Hours not stated by WDFWWDFW publishes seasonal open dates for access areas but no daily hours
- Seasonal access
- Year-round
- Fishing platform
- Fishing platforms: None
Official page · Open documented access point in maps
Sources & quotes for WDFW water access area
Sources: WDFW: lake whitman 717 · WDFW: water access sites · Washington State Parks
- Parking “Parking lots: 1” WDFW
- Pass “A Discover Pass or Vehicle Access Pass is required at all WDFW recreation lands.” WDFW
- Pass “A Vehicle Access Pass provides access only to WDFW lands and is provided with the purchase of many hunting and fishing licenses.” WDFW
- Fee “A Discover Pass or Vehicle Access Pass is required at all WDFW recreation lands.” WDFW
- Fee “The one-day pass is $10.” Washington State Parks
- Season “Access area open: Year-round” WDFW
- Fishing platform “Fishing platforms: None” WDFW
Current notices
Kept separate on purpose: a fishing rule, a park closure and a health advisory are different facts. This site does not declare a lake "open" or "closed".
Fishing regulations
- 1 WDFW emergency rule(s) listed for this lake (includes statewide rules) WDFW
Physical access
- None identified from monitored official sources
Health advisories
- Not on WA Ecology's list of lakes above toxic-algae guidelines (checked ). WA Dept of Ecology (toxic algae)
Data notes
- None identified from monitored official sources
Full rules: WDFW sport fishing rules pamphlet · WDFW emergency rules for this lake
Nearby alternatives
- Tanwax Lake ~1 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock no
- Lake Kapowsin ~2 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock not stated
- Alder Lake ~13 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore yes, dock not stated
- Bonney Lake ~16 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock no
Sources & freshness
- Stocking: WDFW data published Oct 31, 2026 12:33 AM PT; we last checked it
- Access details: last reviewed Oct 31, 2026 (static facts; not live reporting). Official pages re-checked for changes
- Notices checked: WDFW emergency rules ; Ecology toxic-algae list
Official WDFW lake page: WDFW. Stocking matched via release location “LK WHITMAN (PIER)” (confirmed).
All 9 official sources used on this page
- WDFW via data.wa.gov: data.wa.gov/dataset/WDFW-Fish-Plants/6fex-3r7d
- WDFW (GIS): geodataservices.wdfw.wa.gov/arcgis/rest/services/FP_FishMaps/ShoreFishingSites/M
- Washington State Parks: parks.wa.gov/passes-permits/get-park-pass/discover-pass
- WDFW: wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/locations/lowland-lakes/lake-whitman
- WDFW: wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/regulations/emergency-rules?lake=72489
- WDFW: wdfw.wa.gov/places-to-go/water-access-sites
- WDFW: wdfw.wa.gov/places-to-go/water-access-sites/lake-whitman-717
- WDFW sport fishing rules: www.eregulations.com/washington/fishing/
- WA Dept of Ecology (toxic algae): www.nwtoxicalgae.org/