Shorelio

Alder Lake Fishing — Stocking & Shore Access

Pierce County, WA · nearest Census place: Elbe (~2 mi) · main access managed by Tacoma Power (Tacoma Public Utilities)

Trip status for Sun Nov 1

No current issues found in monitored official sources for Sun Nov 1

Quick facts

Recent stocking
None in the last 30 daysNo catchable-size plant in the last 12 months
Shore access
Plenty of public shore access along SR 7 and in Tacoma Power parks Public shore fishing
Pier / dock
Pier or dock not stated by official sources
Parking
Day-use parking
Pass / fee
$10 day-use parking Fri-Sun and holidays, Memorial Day to Labor Day · no Discover Pass
Hours
Hours not stated by Tacoma Power
Access season
All Tacoma Power parks closed Dec. 20-Jan. 1; access varies with lake level

Main access: Alder Lake Park (Tacoma Power (Tacoma Public Utilities))
From official sources: WDFW via data.wa.gov, WDFW, Tacoma Power · Sources & evidence

Recent stocking

Completed releases reported by WDFW (Fish Plants dataset), last 12 months. Only catchable-size trout/kokanee (3 or fewer fish per pound, WDFW's own threshold) count toward "recently stocked". Smaller fish are listed but not counted.

Stocking after Oct 31 is not yet in WDFW's data.

All 7 reported releases, last 12 months
DateSpeciesNumberFish/lbSize class
Oct 13, 2026Kokanee53,46739Smaller than catchable size
May 18, 2026Kokanee59,898298Smaller than catchable size
May 18, 2026Kokanee24,228298Smaller than catchable size
May 18, 2026Kokanee37,344271Smaller than catchable size
May 18, 2026Kokanee20,032292Smaller than catchable size
May 18, 2026Kokanee60,182292Smaller than catchable size
Oct 7, 2025Kokanee50,08639.5Smaller than catchable size

Shore & pier access

Shore access
Plenty of public shore access along SR 7 and in Tacoma Power parks Public shore fishing
Pier / dock
Pier or dock not stated by official sources

No WDFW-documented shore-fishing points for this lake; see the official pages for where to fish.

What the official sources say
  • Shore “There is plenty of public shore access along SR 7 and in a few of Tacoma Power's parks, access areas, and campground.” WDFW

Access points, parking, passes & hours

Alder Lake Park (Tacoma Power (Tacoma Public Utilities), main access)

Parking
Day-use parking
Pass / fee
Required · Discover Pass not required · $10 day-use parking Fri-Sun and holidays, Memorial Day to Labor Day; season pass $70
Hours
Hours not stated by Tacoma Power
Seasonal access
All Tacoma Power parks closed Dec. 20-Jan. 1; access varies with lake level
Sources & quotes for Alder Lake Park

Sources: Tacoma Power: alder lake park · Tacoma Power: reservations fees

  • Parking “Parking Information Parking fee: $10 on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays between” Tacoma Power
  • Pass “A Discover Pass is not required to access Tacoma Power parks, boat launches, or day-use areas.” Tacoma Power
  • Fee “Parking fee: $10 on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays between” Tacoma Power
  • Fee “Season day-use parking pass: $70” Tacoma Power
  • Season “All parks are closed Dec. 20” Tacoma Power
  • Season “Boat launch access, swim areas, and lake levels may vary throughout the year.” Tacoma Power

Current notices

Kept separate on purpose: a fishing rule, a park closure and a health advisory are different facts. This site does not declare a lake "open" or "closed".

Fishing regulations

Physical access

  • None identified from monitored official sources

Health advisories

Data notes

  • None identified from monitored official sources

Full rules: WDFW sport fishing rules pamphlet · WDFW emergency rules for this lake

Nearby alternatives

  • Mineral Lake ~4 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock yes
  • Tanwax Lake ~12 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock no
  • Lake Whitman ~13 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock no
  • Lake Kapowsin ~14 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock not stated

Sources & freshness

  • Stocking: WDFW data published Oct 31, 2026 12:33 AM PT; we last checked it
  • Access details: last reviewed Oct 31, 2026 (static facts; not live reporting). Official pages re-checked for changes
  • Notices checked: WDFW emergency rules ; Ecology toxic-algae list

Official WDFW lake page: WDFW. Stocking matched via release location “ALDER LK (THUR/PIER)” (confirmed).

All 7 official sources used on this page

All known data issues and how to report a correction