Shorelio

American Lake Fishing — Stocking & Shore Access

Pierce County, WA · nearest Census place: North Fort Lewis (~2 mi) · main access managed by WDFW

Trip status for Sun Nov 1

No current issues found in monitored official sources for Sun Nov 1

Quick facts

Recent stocking
None in the last 30 daysLast catchable-size plant: Jun 22, 2026
Shore access
Large shore area at the WDFW access (400+ ft); docks and 300+ ft at a park Public shore fishing
Pier / dock
Public docks
Parking
1 parking lot
Pass / fee
Discover Pass or WDFW Vehicle Access Pass · $10/day
Hours
Hours not stated by WDFW
Access season
Year-round

Main access: WDFW water access area (WDFW) · 1 more access point
From official sources: WDFW via data.wa.gov, WDFW, WDFW (GIS), Washington State Parks · Sources & evidence

Recent stocking

Completed releases reported by WDFW (Fish Plants dataset), last 12 months. Only catchable-size trout/kokanee (3 or fewer fish per pound, WDFW's own threshold) count toward "recently stocked". Smaller fish are listed but not counted.

Stocking after Oct 31 is not yet in WDFW's data.

All 19 reported releases, last 12 months
DateSpeciesNumberFish/lbSize class
Oct 14, 2026Kokanee56,11240.5Smaller than catchable size
Jun 22, 2026Rainbow1,9292Catchable size
May 28, 2026Rainbow4,0002.2Catchable size
May 26, 2026Kokanee101,946361Smaller than catchable size
May 26, 2026Kokanee91,419310Smaller than catchable size
May 26, 2026Kokanee65,667313Smaller than catchable size
May 20, 2026Kokanee49,300313Smaller than catchable size
May 15, 2026Rainbow2,1241.62Catchable size
May 15, 2026Rainbow1001.1Catchable size
May 13, 2026Kokanee99,999406Smaller than catchable size
May 13, 2026Kokanee81,985331Smaller than catchable size
Apr 24, 2026Rainbow8,00036Smaller than catchable size
Apr 13, 2026Rainbow4,0012.19Catchable size
Mar 23, 2026Rainbow5,0042.4Catchable size
Nov 26, 2025Rainbow1,2221.37Catchable size
Nov 24, 2025Rainbow2,5071.37Catchable size
Oct 9, 2025Kokanee34,80037Smaller than catchable size
Oct 9, 2025Kokanee8,00032Smaller than catchable size
Oct 7, 2025Kokanee13,65839.5Smaller than catchable size

Shore & pier access

Shore access
Large shore area at the WDFW access (400+ ft); docks and 300+ ft at a park Public shore fishing
Pier / dock
Public docks

WDFW-documented shore fishing points

  • Over 400 feet of shore fishing at boat launch: open point in maps (WDFW shore-fishing site)
  • Public docks, over 300 feet of shore fishing: open point in maps (WDFW shore-fishing site)
What the official sources say
  • Shore “The WDFW access area has a large area for shore based fishing.” WDFW
  • Shore “Over 400 feet of shore fishing at boat launch” WDFW (GIS)
  • Pier / dock “Public docks, over 300 feet of shore fishing” WDFW (GIS)

Access points, parking, passes & hours

WDFW water access area (WDFW, main access)

Parking
1 parking lot
Pass / fee
Required · Discover Pass or WDFW Vehicle Access Pass · Discover Pass ($10/day, $45/yr) or Vehicle Access Pass (included with many WDFW licenses)
Hours
Hours not stated by WDFWWDFW publishes seasonal open dates for access areas but no daily hours
Seasonal access
Year-round
Fishing platform
Fishing platforms: None
Sources & quotes for WDFW water access area

Sources: WDFW: american lake 244 · WDFW: water access sites · Washington State Parks

  • Parking “Parking lots: 1” WDFW
  • Pass “A Discover Pass or Vehicle Access Pass is required at all WDFW recreation lands.” WDFW
  • Pass “A Vehicle Access Pass provides access only to WDFW lands and is provided with the purchase of many hunting and fishing licenses.” WDFW
  • Fee “A Discover Pass or Vehicle Access Pass is required at all WDFW recreation lands.” WDFW
  • Fee “The one-day pass is $10.” Washington State Parks
  • Season “Access area open: Year-round” WDFW
  • Fishing platform “Fishing platforms: None” WDFW

American Lake Park (City of Lakewood)

Parking
Parking not stated by City of Lakewood
Pass / fee
Required · Boat launch $15 (cards only); parking fee not stated · Pass requirement not stated by City of Lakewood
Hours
Hours not stated by City of LakewoodNot stated on the park page
Seasonal access
Seasonal access not stated by City of Lakewood
Sources & quotes for American Lake Park

Sources: City of Lakewood

  • Fee “Boat launch fees apply at a single launch rate of $15 (CREDIT/DEBIT CARDS ONLY)” City of Lakewood

Current notices

Kept separate on purpose: a fishing rule, a park closure and a health advisory are different facts. This site does not declare a lake "open" or "closed".

Fishing regulations

Physical access

  • None identified from monitored official sources

Health advisories

Data notes

  • None identified from monitored official sources

Full rules: WDFW sport fishing rules pamphlet · WDFW emergency rules for this lake

Nearby alternatives

  • Long's Pond ~13 mi · catchable stocking Oct 26 · shore yes, dock yes restricted to juveniles/seniors/disabled anglers
  • Ward Lake ~17 mi · catchable stocking Oct 26 · shore limited, dock no WDFW water access area: outside its listed open dates (4th Saturday in April - September 30)
  • Bonney Lake ~18 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock no
  • Lake Whitman ~18 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore limited, dock no

Sources & freshness

  • Stocking: WDFW data published Oct 31, 2026 12:33 AM PT; we last checked it
  • Access details: last reviewed Oct 31, 2026 (static facts; not live reporting). Official pages re-checked for changes
  • Notices checked: WDFW emergency rules ; Ecology toxic-algae list

Official WDFW lake page: WDFW. Stocking matched via release location “AMERICAN LK (PIER)” (confirmed).

All 10 official sources used on this page

All known data issues and how to report a correction