Shorelio

Ward Lake Fishing — Stocking & Shore Access

Thurston County, WA · nearest Census place: Tumwater (~2 mi) · main access managed by WDFW

Trip status for Sun Nov 1

Before you go · Sun Nov 1

  • Access WDFW water access area: outside its listed open dates (4th Saturday in April - September 30)

Notice details & sources

Quick facts

Recent stocking
306 cutthroat · Oct 26Catchable size, reported by WDFW
Shore access
Around the boat launch; limited by vegetation Limited shore access
Pier / dock
WDFW access lists no fishing platform
Parking
1 parking lot
Pass / fee
Discover Pass or WDFW Vehicle Access Pass · $10/day
Hours
Hours not stated by WDFW
Access season
4th Saturday in April - September 30

Main access: WDFW water access area (WDFW)
From official sources: WDFW via data.wa.gov, WDFW, WDFW (GIS), Washington State Parks · Sources & evidence

Recent stocking

Completed releases reported by WDFW (Fish Plants dataset), last 12 months. Only catchable-size trout/kokanee (3 or fewer fish per pound, WDFW's own threshold) count toward "recently stocked". Smaller fish are listed but not counted.

Stocking after Oct 31 is not yet in WDFW's data.

All 7 reported releases, last 12 months
DateSpeciesNumberFish/lbSize class
Oct 26, 2026Cutthroat3061.6Catchable size
May 21, 2026Kokanee30,488305Smaller than catchable size
Apr 21, 2026Rainbow2,0201.9Catchable size
Nov 25, 2025Rainbow5651.37Catchable size
Sep 29, 2025Rainbow7101Catchable size
Sep 29, 2025Cutthroat1000.6Catchable size
Sep 29, 2025Cutthroat2251.39Catchable size

Shore & pier access

Shore access
Around the boat launch; limited by vegetation Limited shore access
Pier / dock
WDFW access lists no fishing platform

WDFW-documented shore fishing points

What the official sources say
  • Shore “Bank fishing includes the area around the boat launch on the east side of the lake.” WDFW
  • Shore “Shore fishing, limited by vegetation” WDFW (GIS)
  • Pier / dock “Fishing platforms: None” WDFW

Access points, parking, passes & hours

WDFW water access area (WDFW, main access)

Parking
1 parking lot
Pass / fee
Required · Discover Pass or WDFW Vehicle Access Pass · Discover Pass ($10/day, $45/yr) or Vehicle Access Pass (included with many WDFW licenses)
Hours
Hours not stated by WDFWWDFW publishes seasonal open dates for access areas but no daily hours
Seasonal access
4th Saturday in April - September 30
Fishing platform
Fishing platforms: None
Sources & quotes for WDFW water access area

Sources: WDFW: ward lake 694 · WDFW: water access sites · Washington State Parks

  • Parking “Parking lots: 1” WDFW
  • Pass “A Discover Pass or Vehicle Access Pass is required at all WDFW recreation lands.” WDFW
  • Pass “A Vehicle Access Pass provides access only to WDFW lands and is provided with the purchase of many hunting and fishing licenses.” WDFW
  • Fee “A Discover Pass or Vehicle Access Pass is required at all WDFW recreation lands.” WDFW
  • Fee “The one-day pass is $10.” Washington State Parks
  • Season “Access area open: 4th Saturday in April - September 30” WDFW
  • Fishing platform “Fishing platforms: None” WDFW

Current notices

Kept separate on purpose: a fishing rule, a park closure and a health advisory are different facts. This site does not declare a lake "open" or "closed".

Fishing regulations

Physical access

  • WDFW water access area: outside its listed open dates (4th Saturday in April - September 30) WDFW

Health advisories

Data notes

  • None identified from monitored official sources

Full rules: WDFW sport fishing rules pamphlet · WDFW emergency rules for this lake

Nearby alternatives

  • Long's Pond ~4 mi · catchable stocking Oct 26 · shore yes, dock yes restricted to juveniles/seniors/disabled anglers
  • American Lake ~17 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore yes, dock yes
  • Spanaway Lake ~21 mi · no catchable stocking in 30 days · shore yes, dock yes Spanaway Park closed to vehicles, boats and bikes (Fantasy Lights season) Oct 24, 2026 – Jan 11, 2027

Sources & freshness

  • Stocking: WDFW data published Oct 31, 2026 12:33 AM PT; we last checked it
  • Access details: last reviewed Oct 31, 2026 (static facts; not live reporting). Official pages re-checked for changes
  • Notices checked: WDFW emergency rules ; Ecology toxic-algae list

Official WDFW lake page: WDFW. Stocking matched via release location “WARD LK (THUR)” (confirmed).

All 9 official sources used on this page

All known data issues and how to report a correction